EFCC Re-arraigns 8 Suspected Oil Thieves

28 Aug 2014 (This day Newspapers)

Paul Obi

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Thursday re-arraigned eight persons alleged to have defrauded the federal government of billions of naira on petroleum products.

The accused arrested include Adedamola Ogungbayibi, Olaniran Olabode, Suraju Gasali, Moses Emmanuel, Wilson Bonsi, Padoun Kayode Jacob, Okparaodi Omaka Uche and Onyeogo Happy.

The accused were arraigned before Justice O.E. Abang of a Federal High Court sitting in Lagos on a 5-count charge bordering on conspiracy and illegal dealing in petroleum product.

They were originally arraigned before Justice Saliu Seidu of the same court on June 16, 2014.
The defendants got into trouble on February 19, 2014, when they were arrested by men of the Nigerian Navy who were on routine patrol. The Nigeria Navy Ship ANDONI intercepted MT Good Success and its sixteen member crew , along the Lagos waters.

EFCC Head of Media and Publicity, Wilson Uwujaren said “at the time of arrest, it was discovered that while MT Good Success had authority to carry 350 metric tons of Automotive Gas Oil (AGO), it was loaded with 1,459 metric tons of Premium Motor Spirit (PMS). Officers of the Nigeria Navy then handed over the vessel, its contents and crew members to the EFCC for further investigations.”
Details to follow